Removing Things that Hinder Your Christian Walk

What is Your Stumblingblock?

Do you have a stumbling block? The word itself doesn’t need much explanation, but just in case you are unfamiliar with the term, a stumbling block is anything in your life that makes you fall or “stumble” spiritually.

I will be honest and tell you that my stumbling block, or should I say one of my stumbling blocks, is the television. When I sit down and turn on the television, my mind goes into neutral. At first I notice the immoral dress, behavior and language I hear. However, after awhile I find myself ignoring it or pretending that it’s not that big of a deal. I know that the television is something that causes me to stumble in my Christian life and commit sin. One day I realized I had to make a decision. With my husband’s support, I decided it was time to remove that stumbling block from my life, so the television went into the attic. It comes down for a family movie or for an occasional football game, otherwise, the television is no longer part of my life.

What is the thing in your life that causes you to stumble and sin? Here are a few common stumbling blocks I can think of:

The Radio- Do you spend time listening to music that does not honor God? Think about the words and beat of the music that you listen to. Is your music compatible with the character and holiness of God?

Reading Material- Do you like to read? What kids of things are you reading? Are you reading novels that have sex as the basic element of every plot? Do you read entertainment or gossip magazines that are loaded with sexually-charged images and content?

Friends- Sad but true, your best friends could be your biggest stumbling blocks. Whether you talk to them on the phone or over a cup of coffee, about what do you talk? Do you have friends with which the only thing you have in common is good gossip?

Internet- Do you find yourself spending time on the internet filling your mind with things contrary to Biblical values?

Money- Money is a common stumbling block. Are you controlled by a desire to have more and spend more? Do you go shopping out of boredom and buy things you could easily live without? Are you saddled with debt, though you are surrounded with luxury in your home?

This certainly isn’t an exhaustive list, but it’s a foundation with which you can start to evaluate your life. God doesn’t want you to keep things in your life that you struggle with or which cause you to sin. God loves you and wants you to walk closely with Him. He summarizes His feelings in Isaiah 57:14 when he declares, “…take up the stumbling block out of the way of my people.”

Written by: Amy Kreger

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

